Every state has its own set of requirements when it comes to auto insurance. The state of Georgia is no different. As a Commerce, GA consumer, it is important to understand what the state requires you to carry for insurance coverage. The team at Commerce Insurance Agency can help you understand the requirements.
Minimum Insurance Coverage for Auto
Georgia has a law that requires all drivers of automobiles to carry the minimum amount of auto insurance coverage. These minimums include everything from bodily injury liability to property damage liability and more.
For bodily injury liability, the state of Georgia requires you to have $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident insurance level at a minimum. For property damage liability, you need to carry an auto insurance policy with at least $25,000 per accident in coverage.
Uninsured motorist bodily injury and uninsured motorist property damage requirements are also in place. Uninsured motorist bodily injury carries a minimum coverage of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. As for uninsured motorist property damage, you need to have at least $25,000 in coverage with a deductible of either $1,000, $500, or $250.
Higher Limits May Be Worth Consideration
While it is acceptable to carry the minimum amount of auto insurance coverage, your insurance agent will likely recommend higher limits on top of the minimum liability levels. The goal with insurance is to protect your financial interests, and these limits will drive that action.
Our team in Commerce, GA wants to help you understand what Georgia requires for auto insurance and more. This will help you as you begin the process of shopping for the ideal auto insurance policy. Our team at the Commerce Insurance Agency can help you understand the requirements and make a better decision on your policy purchase.